Fraenkel Gallery is currently open by appointment. Click here to plan your visit.


Fraenkel Gallery is currently open by appointment on Tuesdays through Thursdays, from 11 AM to 3 PM. To schedule a timed-entry reservation, please follow the link below.

Book an Appointment


Fraenkel Gallery
49 Geary Street, 4th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94108
view map



General Inquiries

Press and Permissions Inquiries

Website Accessibility Statement

About Fraenkel Gallery

Since 1979, Fraenkel Gallery has presented more than 350 exhibitions exploring photography and its relation to other media, expanding the conversation around photography and contemporary art.  The gallery is committed to introducing significant works of art in all media, since we believe that to understand photographs it helps to see them in light of other objects–and vice versa. 

The gallery is a primary representative for the work of Diane Arbus, Robert Adams, Sophie Calle, Lee Friedlander, Adam Fuss, Katy Grannan, Richard Learoyd, Richard Misrach, Nicholas Nixon, Alec Soth, and Hiroshi Sugimoto, and represents the estates of Garry Winogrand and Ralph Eugene Meatyard. In recent years, the gallery has further expanded its roster to include multidisciplinary artists such as Elisheva Biernoff, Wardell Milan, and Richard T. Walker.

The gallery’s exhibitions have traced photography’s evolution, from pioneering work by Carleton Watkins and Eadweard Muybridge to pivotal 20th century photographers such as Richard Avedon, Bernd & Hilla Becher, Peter Hujar, and contemporary artists Christian Marclay and Janet Cardiff & George Bures Miller. In addition to museum-quality exhibitions, the gallery has published more than 60 books, most recently our 40th anniversary publication, Long Story Short.  

While photography has been the through-line of our exhibitions and publications, it is far from the whole story. Notable projects such as Edward Hopper & Company, Not Exactly Photographs, Open Secrets, and The Unphotographable have interwoven photo-based work with drawing, painting, sculpture, and media arts. Many exhibitions have featured artists whose work is not strictly, or not at all, photographic: Mel Bochner, Bruce Conner, Jay DeFeo, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, and Sol LeWitt. 

Fraenkel Gallery maintains long-established relationships with museums, private collectors, and corporations around the world, and welcomes the experienced collector as well as those just beginning. More about the gallery can be found on our special 40 Years web feature.

Gallery Staff

Jeffrey Fraenkel
Frish Brandt, President
Amy Whiteside, Director/Partner
Daphne Palmer, Director/Partner
Delaney Kennedy, Associate Director
Ola Dlugosz, Associate Director & Artist Liaison
Lexi Brown, Artist Liaison
Carlota Ortiz Monasterio, Sales Associate
Rebecca Robertson, Press & Permissions
Alexander Goodwin, Registrar
Ken Clanton, Head of Operations
Matthew Yeager, Senior Preparator & Framing Logistics
Ella Peake, Gallery Associate
Torin Stephens, Digital Assets Coordinator
Christa Palazzolo, Digital Media Coordinator
Mari Mielcarski, Finance & Administration
Ann Marie Matheus, Accountant
Lowell Pettit, Special Projects


Site by Bad Feather